Up, up and away!

My last walk through the Old Garden, looking back at my Living Room window. What a view!

My last walk through the Old Garden, looking back at my Living Room window. What a view!

It feels as though this summer in England has disappeared in the blink of an eye, and at the same time, feels as though too much has happened for it to have been only four months. It is a strange and wonderful feeling. I have met so many great people throughout my travels, and have made such good friends, it is difficult to leave them so soon. But, like a garden, all beautiful things are ephemeral. My time here at Hidcote has been particularly lovely, being able to work with a great team, with a great sense of humor. It truly is the people that make the place, and Hidcote is not lacking in color or character in any regard.

I will leave you with just a few more bits and bobs, in and out of the garden.

Freshly hedged Stilt Garden, looking crisp in the last light of the day.

Freshly hedged Stilt Garden, looking crisp in the last light of the day.

This classic car sat outside the Manor is now on a list of 'Needs.'

This classic car sat outside the Manor is now on a list of ‘Needs.’

When I got the chance, I went into the garden and got my doodle on.

When I got the chance, I went into the garden and got my doodle on.

I was also able to make arrangements for the house in addition to our general garden tasks, which was a great opportunity for me to be creative and use some of the most interesting flowers one might find, straight from the garden.

An early summer arrangement with Phlomis, Aruncus, Lamium, Geranium, Clematis, and much more!

An early summer arrangement with Phlomis, Aruncus, Lamium, Digitalis, Geranium, Clematis, and much more!

A late summer arrangement using many different species of Hydrangea, Phlox, Comsos, Clematis, Echinops, Cephalaria, Asparagus, and some things I still don't recognize.

A late summer arrangement using many different species of Hydrangea, Phlox, Comsos, Clematis, Echinops, Cephalaria, Asparagus, and some things I still don’t recognize.

Groundskeeper Jamie Small, took me to see this amazing sheep barn on the edge of the property, which has a pretty decent view if I do say so myself. What an amazing space it was.

Groundskeeper Jamie Small, took me to see this amazing sheep barn on the edge of the property, which has a pretty decent view if I do say so myself. What an amazing space it was.

View from the stone barn.

View from the stone barn.

I will genuinely miss everyone at this one-of-a-kind garden. It has been an education in of itself, learning the history of the place and the transformation that has occurred, just in the last 15 years. I can not wait to see the additional progress they make in the years to come. With luck, it will not be too long until I can return to this wonderful country, an eden without a doubt.

It's a bird, it's a plane, it's a fool with a flag. Next stop Japan!

It’s a bird, it’s a plane, it’s a fool with a flag. Next stop Japan!

2 comments

  1. Pingback: Sunday Clippings | Plinth et al.

Leave a Reply

