Outdoor Display Rotation, NYC and more.

It has now been almost 2 months spent at Longwood, I have been so busy I have struggled to find time for blogging.

I started my time here at Longwood in the Outdoor display rotation, and have been doing all sorts of different tasks.

I started my Rotation helping Andy in his area out in the ‘Parking Lot’ otherwise known as the car park.

I was made to feel right at home right away, dead heading Daffodil's

I was made to feel right at home right away, dead heading Daffodil’s

My second week in outdoor display was an eventful one, it was display change time on the flower garden walk.  Which meant it was time for dig out, discard and replace.

It felt slightly alien to me to be digging out this digitalis in full bloom but it was time for the summer display to go in.

It felt slightly alien to me to be digging out this Digitalis in full bloom but it was time for the summer display to go in.

Once everything had been removed from the beds it was time for planting…

DSCN5073

DSCN5079

Planting a rather strange looking Salvia – Salvia argentea, with no flower it is planted purely for it’s foliage.

Within the outdoor display team there are three sections, I was lucky enough to rotate through them all, next up was Harold’s area.  Here we set about mulching under this box hedging.

DSCN5103One weekend I arranged a to a trip to NYC, I was visiting a friend as well as visiting a couple of Gardens

First stop was the Brooklyn Botanic Garden…..

DSCN5146 DSCN5152 DSCN5136

DSCN5123

Next I had hear a lot about the highline as was eager to visit, lucky for me my friend lived just around the corner…

This was one of the only opportunities I got to get a photo with very few people in.

This was one of the only opportunities I got to get a photo with very few people in.

The weekend was over and it was back to work in the outdoor display team, one particularly interesting job was jumping in some waders and weeding ‘The Island’

DSCN5172

I was joined by some helpers in the form of Bull frog offspring.  Which I have been told take two years to transform for tadpole to frog.

I was joined by some helpers in the form of Bull frog offspring. Which I have been told take two years to transform from tadpole to frog.

Almost every Thursday there are student field trips arranged to places of interest in the local area.  My favourite so far has got to be Ladew Topiary Gardens.

DSCN5241DSCN5233 DSCN5230 DSCN5213 DSCN5194

Next I will be working in the grounds department……

Leave a Reply

