Reflection of Longwood

After four months working at Longwood, I have now successfully completed my year as a TRIAD Fellow. Time has went by much faster than I expected and it is unfortunate that I will be leaving Longwood soon.

IMG_1165

When I returned to Longwood, I had the option to work in any area of Longwood Gardens. The choice for where I wanted to work was easy. I wished to continue to work from the position I left, Indoor Display.  The reason why was because of the winter season, where not much is happening from January to March outside. The main reason was because I was able to  once again work with people whom I had the pleasure of working with for eight months before I left for the TRIAD program. These people, along with the amazing areas that they work in, are what made my experience at Longwood a memorable one. I have grown so much because of these people. My final blog is to thank a handful of them.

IMG_0934

Janet has been helpful since I first moved to Longwood. My main supplier of chocolate, she was always there to give helpful advice.

IMG_1241

Despite being in charge of the Professional Gardeners, Interns, and the Graduate Students, Dr. Trader managed to find time out of his schedule to also help me with career searching.

 

Lauren's plantings were always the standard I tried to match. She could masterfully plant tiered displays without breaking a sweat. She also baked cookies, which is much appreciated during a large changeover in the main.

Lauren’s plantings were always the standard I tried to match. She could masterfully plant tiered displays without breaking a sweat. Always upbeat, she was one of my favorite people to work with. She also baked cookies, which is much appreciated during a large changeover in the Main Conservatory.

Andrew is smart guy and is very humorous once you know him. I know he secretly enjoyed the "Beast of the East" title I gave him when he was in charge of the East Conservatory, but he'll never admit it.

Andrew is smart guy who always had information about the plant that I was removing/ deadheading/ planting/ watering. I know he secretly enjoyed the “Beast of the East” title I gave him when he was in charge of the East Conservatory, but he’ll never admit it.

When I would see that I'm assigned to for the week I knew that I was in for hard work that was also really messy.

When I would see that I’m assigned to Tim for the week I knew that I was in for hard work that was also really messy. It’s worth it, as the Water Lilly display was one of my favorite areas.

Out of everyone, I probably worked with Mike the most as an intern. When there was a messy job that had to be done, it was Mike and I out in the trenches, and we both always had a great time doing it.

Out of everyone, I probably worked with Mike the most as an intern. When there was a messy job that had to be done, it was Mike and I out in the trenches. We both always had a great time doing it.

Bold, witty, and cunning. Karl is someone who keeps you on your toes. He expects much, but that made me a better horticulturist. I owe a lot to him, as I was selected as the indoor intern in 2013 and none of these experiences I've had over the past year would have happened if not for being an intern first. And don't worry, he did not collapse on the floor, he was trying to pet a cat.

Bold, witty, and cunning. Karl is someone who keeps you on your toes. He expects much, but that made me a better horticulturist. I owe a lot to him, as I was selected as the indoor intern in 2013 and none of these experiences I’ve had over the past year would have happened if not for being an intern first. And don’t worry, he did not collapse on the floor, he was trying to pet a cat.

I owe  much to Joyce as well, as she took me under her wing during my time as a TRIAD. She pushed me to branch out and study irrigation, fountain maintenance and integrated pest management. Because of her, I am a much stronger candidate for conservatory jobs than I was four months ago.

I owe much to Joyce as well, as she took me under her wing during my time as a TRIAD. She pushed me to branch out and study irrigation, fountain maintenance and integrated pest management. Because of her, I am a much stronger candidate for conservatory jobs than I was four months ago.

I am extremely fortunate to have met all of these people and I will miss all of them when I leave. Soon, I will be departing back to Long Island continuing to search for a job. I’m not worried as I’m sure someone will hire a horticulturist who happens to amassed a vast amount of intellectual capital from three distinct gardens around the world.

There's ALWAYS chocolate around the corner.

There is ALWAYS chocolate around the corner.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

